University of California, Los Angeles

The University of California, Los Angeles UCLA is a public research university in the Westwood district of Los Angeles, California, United States. It became the Southern Branch of the University of California in 1919, making it the second oldest undergraduate campus of the ten campus system after the original University of California campus in Berkeley 1873. It offers 337 undergraduate and graduate degree programs in a large range of disciplines. UCLA enrolls about 30,000 undergraduate and 12,000 graduate students, and had 119,000 applicants for Fall 2016, as well as move applicants, the most applicants for any American university. The Times Higher Education World University Rankings for 20152016 ranked UCLA 16th in the world for academics and 13th in the world for repute. In 2015-2016, UCLA ranked 12th in the world tenth in North America by the Academic Ranking of World Universities ARWU and 31st in the 2016/17 QS World University Rankings. In 2015, the Center for World University Rankings CWUR ranked the university 15th in the world depending on quality of education, alumni work, quality of faculty, publications, influence, citations, broad affect, and patents. The university is organized into five undergraduate colleges, seven professional schools, and four professional health science schools. The undergraduate colleges are the College of Letters and Science, Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science HSSEAS, School of the Arts and Architecture, School of Theater, Film and TV, and School of Nursing. Fourteen Nobel laureates, three Fields Medalists, two Chief Scientists of the U.S. Air Force and three Turing Award winners have been faculty, researchers, or alumni. Among the current faculty members, 55 have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, 28 to the National Academy of Engineering, 39 to the Institute of Medicine, and 124 to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The university has been elected to the affiliation of American Universities in 1974. UCLA student athletes compete as the Bruins in the Pac-12 Conference. The Bruins have won 126 national championships, as well as 113 NCAA team championships, more than any other university. UCLA student athletes, coaches and staff have won 251 Olympic medals: 126 gold, 65 silver and 60 bronze. UCLA student athletes competed in every Olympics since 1920 with one exemption 1924, and have won a gold medal in every Olympics that the United States has took part in since 1932. In 1914, the school moved to a new campus on Vermont Avenue now the site of Los Angeles City College in East Hollywood. In 1917, UC Regent Edward Augustus Dickson, the only regent representing the Southland at the time, and Ernest Carroll Moore, Director of the Normal School, started to lobby the State Legislature to enable the school to become the second University of California campus, after UC Berkeley. They met resistance from UC Berkeley alumni, Northern California members of the state legislature, and Benjamin Ide Wheeler, President of the University of California from 1899 to 1919, who were all vigorously opposed to the idea of a southern campus. but, David Prescott Barrows, the new President of the University of California, didn't share Wheeler's objections. On May 23, 1919, the Southern Californians' efforts were rewarded when Governor William D. Stephens signed Assembly Bill 626 into law, which transformed the Los Angeles Normal School into the Southern Branch of the University of California. The same legislation added its general undergraduate program, the College of Letters and Science. The Southern Branch campus opened on September 15 of that year, offering two year undergraduate programs to 250 Letters and Science students and 1,250 students in the Teachers College, under Moore's continued direction.

Under University of California President William Wallace Campbell, enrollment at the Southern Branch extended so quickly that by the mid-1920s the institution was outgrowing the 25 acre Vermont Avenue place. The Regents searched for a new place and declared their selection of the so called "Beverly Site"just west of Beverly Hillson March 21, 1925 edging out the panoramic hills of the still empty Palos Verdes Peninsula. After the athletic teams entered the Pacific Coast conference in 1926, the Southern Branch student council adopted the nickname "Bruins", a name offered by the student council at UC Berkeley. In 1927, the Regents renamed the Southern Branch the University of California at Los Angeles the word "at" was replaced by a comma in 1958, in line with other UC campuses , and in the same year, the state broke ground in Westwood on land sold for $1 million, less than one third its value, by real estate developers Edwin and Harold Janss, for whom the Janss Steps are named. The campus in Westwood opened to students in 1929. The original four buildings were the College Library now Powell Library, Royce Hall, the Physics Biology Building now the Humanities Building, and the Chemistry Building now Haines Hall, arrayed around a quadrangular courtyard on the 400 acre 1.6 km campus. The 1st undergraduate classes on the new campus were held in 1929 with 5,500 students. After lobbying by alumni, faculty, governance and community leaders, UCLA was allowed to award the master's degree in 1933, and the doctorate in 1936, against continued resistance from UC Berkeley. A timeline of the history may be found on its web site, also as a published book. The new UCLA campus in 1929 had four buildings: Royce Hall and Haines Hall on the north, and Powell Library and Kinsey Hall now the Humanities Building on the south. The Janss Steps were the original 87-step entrance to the university that lead to the quad of these four buildings. Today, the campus will include 163 buildings across 419 acres 1.7 km in the western part of Los Angeles, north of the Westwood shopping district and just south of Sunset Boulevard. by acreage, it's the second smallest of the ten UC campuses. The campus is close but not bordering to the 405 San Diego Freeway. The campus is in the residential area of Westwood and bordered by Bel Air to the north, Beverly Hills to the east, and Brentwood to the west. The campus is informally divided into North Campus and South Campus, which are both on the eastern half of the university's land. North Campus is the original campus core, its buildings are more conventional in look and clad in imported Italian brick. North Campus is home to the arts, humanities, social sciences, law, and business programs and is focused around ficus and sycamore lined Dickson Court, aka the "Sunken Garden". South Campus is home to the physical sciences, life sciences, engineering, mathematical sciences, health related fields, and the UCLA Medical Center. The campus will include sculpture gardens, fountains, museums, and a mix of architectural styles. Janss Steps, in front of Royce Hall Ackerman Union, the John Wooden Center, the Arthur Ashe Health and Wellness Center, the Student actions Center, Kerckhoff Hall, the J.D. Morgan Center, the James West Alumni Center, and Pauley Pavilion stand at the center of the campus, bordering Wilson Plaza. The campus is bisected by Bruin Walk, a heavily traveled path from the residential hill to the major campus. At the intersection of Bruin Walk and Westwood Plaza is Bruin Plaza, featuring an outdoor performing arts stage and a bronze statue of the Bruin bear.